The shaman is a variant of the cleric class, a tribal priest of Neutral alignment. Shamans do not serve a deity or pantheon of gods. Instead, they act as a bridge between his people and the unseen spirit world. To a shaman, the physical world is not the entirety of existence; the spirits of animals, nature, and the tribe’s dead are always near, and interacting with these spirits is the shaman’s greatest duty and responsibility.

Shamans are common amongst the beastmen tribes. See also the Spirit Guides and Shaman Spells posts.

Shaman Progression

Level XP Hit Dice BAB Save
1 0 1d6+5 +0 15
2 2,000 2d6+5 +0 14
3 4,000 3d6+5 +1 14
4 8,000 4d6+5 +1 13
5 16,000 5d6+5 +1 13
6 32,000 6d6+5 +2 12
7 64,000 7d6+5 +2 12
8 120,000 8d6+5 +2 11
9 240,000 9d6+5 +3 11

Inverse Dots

Game Rule Information

Prime Requisite: A shaman’s prime requisite is Wisdom; a character must have a WIS score of 11 or higher to become a shaman. In addition, a shaman requires a Constitution of 13 or higher.

Alignment: Shamans must be of Neutral alignment.

Hit Dice: Shamans start with a “hit point kicker” of 5 hp and gain 1d6 hit points + CON mod per class level.

Combat Ability: A shaman has a fair Base Attack Bonus progression. Shamans may use tribal weapons, which usually include the blowgun, club, dagger, dart, hand axe, javelin, knife, quarterstaff, short bow, sling, and spear. They may wear tribal armour such as hide, leather, or studded leather with a tough wooden, wicker, or hide-covered shield.

Saving Throws: Shamans have fair saving throws, and gain +1 on saves vs. mental influence (including enchantment, charm, and contests of will).

Special Abilities

Spirit Guides: A shaman begins play with one minor spirit ally or guide of his choice; it’s assumed that he has already performed the rites to summon this first guide.

As he rises in level, he learns to rites necessary to call additional – and more powerful – spirits. The number of spirits a shaman may contact are given in the table below. See the Spirit Guides post for more details on specific spirits.

Divine Spellcasting: Starting at 2nd level, a shaman may use call upon the spirits to grant spells. The power and number of shaman spells available to a character are determined by level, as shown below.

See the Shaman Spells post for more information and spell selection.

Craft Magic Items: Also starting at 2nd level, shamans can create fetishes and brew potions. They are unable to craft other types of magic items (such as scrolls, armour, or weapons) however. Refer to the BFRPG rules for Magical Research for more information.

Inverse Dots

Spirit Guides

1 1 Minor
2 1 Minor
3 2 Minor
4 2 Minor
5 3 Medium
6 3 Medium
7 4 Medium
8 4 Medium
9 5 Major

Divine Spells

1 2 3 4
2 1
3 2
4 2 1
5 3 2
6 3 2 1
7 3 3 2
8 3 3 2 1
9 3 3 3 2

Inverse Dots


About K-Slacker

Gamer and 5th-level magic-user.
This entry was posted in Classes, House Rules and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s